Athens (CD Album)


(2003) This live 2-CD set is a funk-drenched document of D’Elf’s first journey to the South, recorded 3/28/02 at the Georgia Theater in Athens, GA. with John Medeski, Mat Maneri, Deep Banana Blackout
drummer Eric Kalb, ex-Bowie guitarist Reeves Gabrels & Brahim Fribgane aboard the bus. Crazewire called it “…something akin to skunky Jack Johnson-Miles Davis flavored with the chop-and-cut of modern electric instrumentals. Think the Talking Heads’ Remain In Light stripped of the vocals and peppered with samples from David Byrne’s Luaka Bop label.”

Out of stock



Reeves Gabrels (guitar), Mat Maneri (electric violin), Brahim Fribgane (oud, voice, percussion), John Medeski (keyboards), Mister Rourke (turntables), Mike Rivard (basses), Erik Kalb (drums)

Disc 1
1   Substance D – Phase 1
2   Substance D – Phase 2
3   Gator Geek
4   Uncle Skulky
5   Bass Beatbox
6   Ah Yah Win A Win
8   Scorpionic
9   Athens Sha’abi
10 Sidi Rabi

Disc 2
1   Fire In The Brain
2   The Tingler Pt. 1
3   Percepto
4   The Tingler Pt. 2
5   Left Hand of Clyde
6   Shadow’s Shift


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Athens (CD Album)”