Electric Moroccoland Deluxe Edition (MP3 Album)


(2018) Originally released as a double album with So Below in 2011, now available in this Deluxe Edition with four new tracks, including one of the strangest studio tracks the band has ever recorded (“Nickle For Brainy”) and three live tracks. Focusing on the Moroccan-trance side of the bands sound, the album features core member Brahim Fribgane, whose influence led the band in a decidedly North African direction. Also including John Medeski, David Tronzo, and Hassan Hakmoun singing a Gnawa-fied version of Cream’s “Sunshine Of Your Love,” as well as a Moroccan version of Morphine’s “Rope On Fire.”


Hassan Hakmoun (vocals #1, 5), Brahim Fribgane (oud, resonator guitar, dumbek, bendir, karakab, handclaps), Mike Rivard (electric & acoustic basses, sintir, tamboura, handclaps), Erik Kerr (drums), Mister Rourke (turntables), David Tronzo (slide guitar), Duke Levine (guitar), Randy Roos (guitar), Geoff Scott (guitar), John Medeski (keyboards), Alain Mallet (keyboards), Jamshied Sharifi (keyboard), Matt Kilmer (percussion), Dean Johnston (drums), Mat Maneri (electric viola), Dyann DelVecchio, Ruthie Ristich & Paul Stiller (background vocals), Kousmat Mohammed (Tarija), Chris Cote (lead vocal #13), Lotfi Tiken (Moroccan vocals #13)

1  Overture 
2  Sand (for Mark)
3  Ghir Khoudouni 
4  Madrecita (6:44)
5  Sunshine Of Your Love 
6  Scorpionic 
7  Mogador 
8  Bendir Done That 
9  Berber Song 
10 Sidi Rabi 
11 Ambib 
12 Instar
13 Rope On Fire
Bonus Tracks:
14 Nickle For Brainy
15 Mogador (Live)
16 Brahim Runs The Chaabi Down (Live) 
17 Hegaz (Live)