Electric Moroccoland / So Below (MP3 Album)


(2011) The band’s studio follow-up to Now I Understand (2006). A double-disc set, Electric Moroccoland/So Below represents two distinct sides of the group’s sound: Moroccan trance (Electric Moroccoland) and funky electronica/DJ-driven beats (So Below). More than 10 years in the making, it features over 26 musicians including John Medeski, DJ Logic, Dana Colley & the late Mark Sandman of Morphine (in some of his last recorded performances), David Tronzo, Brahim Fribgane, and Hassan Hakmoun singing a Gnawa-fied version of Cream’s “Sunshine Of Your Love.” Twenty-two tracks worth of music for a playing time of over 145 minutes. “…masterfully mines a potpourri of global sounds and styles spanning, among others, Moroccan trance, dub-dosed funk, jazz fusion, hill country blues, and psychedelic rock.”    – Jonathan Perry, Boston Globe


Hassan Hakmoun (vocals), Brahim Fribgane (oud, resonator guitar, dumbek, bendir, karakab, handclaps), Mike Rivard (electric & acoustic basses, sintir, tamboura, handclaps), Erik Kerr (drums), Mister Rourke (turntables), David Tronzo (slide guitar), Geoff Scott (guitar), John Medeski (keyboards), Duke Levine (guitar), Randy Roos (guitar), Matt Kilmer (percussion), Alain Mallet (keyboards), Dean Johnston (drums), Mat Maneri (electric viola), Dyann DelVecchio, Ruthie Ristich & Paul Stiller (background vocals), Kousmat Mohammed (Tarija), Chris Cote (lead vocal), Lotfi Tiken (Moroccan vocals), Paul Schultheis (keyboard), Reeves Gabrels (guitar), Jere Faison (sampler, keyboard, percussion), Jerry Leake (tablas & percussion), Tom Hall (tenor sax), Joel Springer (tenor sax), Mark Sandman (guitar, two-string bass and tritar), Gerry Leonard (guitar), DJ Logic (turntables), Allan Chase (alto sax), David  Johnston (vocals and guitar), Dana Colley (electric bari sax), Tommy Benedetti (drums), Bertram Lehmann (lunga), Alhaji Dolsi-naa Abubakari Lunna (lunga), Dave Mattacks (drums, hand claps), J. Hilt (drums) Eric Hipp (tenor sax), Tom Halter (trumpet), Scotty Hard (beat)

Disc 1 – Electric Moroccoland
01 Overture
02 Sand
03 Ghir Khoudouni
04 Madrecita
05 Sunshine Of Your Love
06 Scorpionic
07 Mogador
08 Bendir Done That
09 Berber Song
10 Sidi Rabi
11 Ambib
12 Instar
13 Rope On Fire

Disc 2 – So Below
01 Gettin’ Squinty
02 Middle Pillar
03 So Below
04 Salvia
05 I Wish I Was in Heaven Sitting Down
06 Trance Meeting Pt 1
07 Trance Meeting Pt 2
08 As Above
09 End of Firpo
10 Pharaoh
11 Propeller
12 Taint Two


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Electric Moroccoland / So Below (MP3 Album)”